Ilaria Fantin - Discografia - Love


by La magnifica comunità

Track list

  1. Lamento della ninfa: Amor, Amor
  2. Folle è ben che si crede
  3. Quelles beautés, o mortels
  4. Ay amor loco
  5. Che si può fare?
  6. Sombres déserts
  7. If love’s a sweet passion
  8. Grida l’alma a tutt’ ore
  9. Frescos ayres del prado
  10. Chi vuol ch’io m’innamori
  11. Chi mi tolse alle sfere!… Lumi potete piangere
  12. I burn, i burn
  13. Disserratevi abissi
  14. 14Restless in thoughts
  15. Now, o now I needs must part feat Viola, Jasser Haj Yousseff
  16. Più bella maestà…
  17. Thy Hand Belinda…


Album review

This epic compilation produced by Phoenix and Aaron Kostner serves as both a fine showcase of the Dead’s iconic songs and a who’s who of current indie rock.


German artist Simone Kermes has easily established herself as one of the foremost coloratura sopranos in the world today, possessing a virtuoso voice of great flexibility and range. For this program she has chosen to focus—not surprisingly or unusually—on the theme of “love”. Four different countries have been selected to present us with a wide range of characters and characterizations from the sixteenth to eighteenth centuries. What might give pause to purists is the fact that most, if not all, of these pieces have been newly arranged, or in some cases, “recomposed”, so that what you think you are familiar with could be slightly jarring in some instances. Several of the works are nebulous enough in terms of original scoring so that an updated version is not out of place, others sound a little sugary for my taste. But what cannot be doubted is Kermes commitment to her art and to the theme of this program, which she delivers with quite a punch. For a pleasant hour of ravishing singing sans historical concerns, this is just the ticket.